April 13

So I know its been a while since I last updated this blog but I’ve been busy.  I have had a lot of things going on, mostly work related so I can’t talk about them, online at least.  The good news is I will have some good stories for when I get back to ND.  I have had some good weekends though:

March 5-8th, My birthday weekend.

That weekend my mom, Nancy, and my cousin Dan came out for the weekend, arriving Thursday night.  We went t o my favorite burger spot for dinner, the Capital City Brewery.  Friday morning we got a tour of the White House, during which we were able to see Marine One land. Friday afternoon I led the three on a tour of the Capital building in which we were able to see a senator speak, a bill come over from the house to the senate and then the senate go out of session for the weekend, all of which have their own procedures. Saturday we went out to Arlington national cemetery, that was a very large, and somber, place.

The next weekend I didn’t work was April 4th and 5th, the first weekend of Easter recess. That weekend I went up to New York with a couple of the other interns.  I really enjoyed the weekend, if for nothing else than it was a weekend away from my roommates. We arrived Saturday morning, which meant getting up really early, and tried to take the subway from Penn station to the hotel.  I won’t make that mistake again! I also have a new respect for the DC metro system. From there we took a walk up to Central Park, Huge by the way, wondered around that, yeah we got lost in the park, did I mention it was a big park! We were able to find the zoo, yeah the park has a zoo though no talking lions like the movies, but we did see some cool penguins.  To get back to the hotel we took a cab, those cabs are awesome, they have the Internet in the backseat and take credit cards.  That night we went to a Broadway show, The Lion King, now I’m not gonna lie, I was not all that excited about this show but I went because I am open to new things.  I was surprised by how much I liked the show, it was really well done, great actors, well written script, and it was adapted from the movie for the show very nicely!  Sunday we went to Ground Zero and to a point were we could see the Statue of Liberty.

And that is what I have been up to.

One response to “April 13

  1. You did not mention that you had dinner with your amazing cousin sasha…..PSHHHHH

Leave a comment